SPECIAL SESSION MINUTES JULY 29, 2024 BOARD OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS NEW HAVEN, CONNECTICUT VIDEOCONFERENCE AND CONFERENCE CALL VIA ZOOM

PRESENT: Commissioners Michael Lawlor, Tracey Meares; Isaias Miranda; Evelise Ribeiro; and Commissioner Walker

Chief Karl Jacobson: Department of Police Service

Assistant Chief Manmeet Bhagtana: Department of Police Service Assistant Chief Bertram Ettienne: Department of Police Service

Sergeant Paul Finch: Department of Police Service Officer D. Cohen: Department of Police Service

Officer Reginald McGlotten: Department of Police Service

Asia Johnson-Clark: Administrative Assistant

Florencio Cotto: President, Elm Cit Local

Michelle Duprey, Esquire: Deputy Corporation Counsel

Regina Rush-Kittle: CAO, City of New Haven

Josean Bauza-Santiago Vadid Bien-Amie Demerick Blackford Tyler Bradley Paul Bratu

Rasmary Carrero

Jason Crisco

Jose Lopez

Axel Merced Jr.

Nisaiah Moore

OPEN SESSION

The Regular Session meeting of the Board of Police Commissioners was called to order at 6:02 p.m., Evelise Ribeiro, Chair, presided. She indicated there was a quorum. She indicated that Commissioner Brooks would not be joining the meeting this evening.

AGENDA

Approval of the Agenda for the Board of Police Commissioners Special Meeting

- ** Commissioner Walker moved to Approve the Agenda
- ** Commissioner Miranda seconded
- ** Motion passed unanimously

PERSONNEL MATTERS

- 1. Discussion and action on the recommendation of Chief Karl Jacobson to remove the following candidate from the Police Eligibility List 22-68CR dated February 12, 2024:
 - A. Tyler Bradley
- Commissioner Ribeiro asked Mr. Bradley if he wanted to be heard in an open or closed session. She explained what each meant. Mr. Bradley opted to be heard in a closed session.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

- ** Commissioner Walker motioned to go into Executive Session to discuss the removal of Candidate Tyler Bradley from the Police Eligibility List 22-68 CR dated February 12, 2024
- ** Commissioner Miranda seconded
- ** Motion passed unanimously
- Commissioner Ribiero invited the following to the closed session: The commissioners, Chief Jacobson, Assistant Chief Bhagtana, Assistant Chief Ettienne, Sergeant Finch, Officer McGlotten, Attorney Duprey, Sergeant Borisova, Officer Cohen, and CAO Rush-Kittle

Executive Session began at 6:05 p.m.

- ** Commissioner Walker motioned to come out Executive Session
- ** Commissioner Miranda seconded
- ** Motion passed unanimously

Execuitve Session ended at 6:30 p.m.

- ** Commissioner Walker motioned to adhere to the recommendation of Chief Jacobson to remove Candidate Tyler Bradley from the Police Eligibility List 22-68CR dated February 12, 2024
- ** Commissioner Miranda seconded
- ** The motion passed unanimously
 - 2. Discussion and action on the recommendation of Chief Karl Jacobson to promote the following candidates from the Police Eligibility List 68-68CR dated February 12, 2024:
 - A. Demerick Blackford
 - B. Vadid Bien-Aime
 - C. Rasmary Carrero
 - D. Jason Criscio
- ** Commissioner Walker motioned to adhere to Chief Jacobson's recommendation

to hire the following Candidates from the Police Eligibility List 22-68CR dated February 12, 2024:

- A. Demerick Blackford
- B. Vadid Bien-Aime
- C. Rasmary Carrero
- D. Jason Criscio
- ** Commissioner Miranda seconded
- ** The motion passed unanimously
 - 3. Discussion and action on the recommendation of Chief Karl Jacobson to promote the following candidates from the Police Eligibility List #25-68CR dated May 15, 2024:
 - A. Paul Bratu
 - B. Axel Merced Jr.
 - C. Jose Lopez
 - D. Nisaiah Moore
 - E. Josean Bauza-Santiago
- ** Commissioner Walker motioned to adhere to Chief Jacobson's recommendation to hire the following candidates from the Police Eligibility List 22-68CR dated May 15, 2024:
 - A. Paul Bratu
 - B. Axel Merced Jr.
 - C. Jose Lopez
 - D. Nisaiah Moore
 - E. Josean Bauza-Santiago
- ** Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- ** The motion passed unanimously
- Commissioner Ribeiro congratulated the hires.
- Commissioner Ribeiro thanked the team for the work they do to make this happen.
- Commissioner Ribeiro asked if there was a reason to go into executive session. Hearing no response she called for a motion to adjourn.
- ** Commissioner Walker motioned to Adjourn the Special Meeting
- ** Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- ** Motion passed unanimously
- The new hires were congratulated by the chiefs and commissioners.

The next regular meeting will be on August 12, 2024

The Board adjourned at 6:36 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

sotonye otunba-payns

Sotonye Otunba-Payne