#### SPECIAL SESSION MINUTES SEPTEMBER 24, 2024 BOARD OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS NEW HAVEN, CONNECTICUT VIDEOCONFERENCE AND CONFERENCE CALL VIA ZOOM

# **PRESENT:** Commissioners Darrell Brooks, Michael Lawlor, Evelise Ribeiro, and Donald Walker

Chief Karl Jacobson: Department of Police Service Assistant Chief Manmeet Bhagtana: Department of Police Service Assistant Chief Bertram Ettienne: Department of Police Service Sergeant Yelena Borisova: Department of Police Service Sergeant Paul Finch: Department of Police Service Officer D. Cohen: Department of Police Service Officer Reginald McGlotten: Department of Police Service Asia Johnson-Clark: Administrative Assistant

Elia Alexiades, Esquire: Deputy Corporation Counsel Regina Rush-Kittle: Chief Administrative Officer

Kelvin Mitchell Jr. Lance Reinhardt Chevaughn White

#### **OPEN SESSION**

The Regular Session meeting of the Board of Police Commissioners was called to order at 6:04 p.m., Evelise Ribeiro, Chair, presided.

■ Commissioner Ribeiro indicated that the following commissioners were in attendance: Commissioner Ribeiro, Commissioner Brooks, Commissioner Lawlor and Commissioner Walker. Commissioners Miranda and Meares would not be in attendance this evening.

### **AGENDA**

Approval of the Agenda for the Board of Police Commissioners Meeting

- \*\* Commissioner Walker moved to Approve the Agenda
- \*\* Commissioner Brooks seconded
- \*\* Motion passed unanimously

### PERSONNEL MATTERS

- 1, Discussion and action on the recommendation of Chief Karl Jacobson to remove the following candidates from the Police Eligibility List #22-68CR (8-28-2024):
  - A. #12 Chevaughn White

- B. #13 Kelvin Michell Jr.
- C. #17 Lance Reinhardt

Chief Jacobson indicated he would like approval to remove the above-listed candidates.
Commissioner Ribeiro explained what open and closed sessions were to the three candidates.
She asked in what forum they would like to be heard by the Board. All three candidates opted to be heard in a closed session.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

- \*\* Commissioner Brooks motioned to go into Executive Session to Discuss Personnel Matters
- \*\* Commissioner Walker seconded.
- \*\* Motion passed unanimously

■ Commissioner Ribeiro invited the commissioners, Chief Jacobson, Chief Ettienne, Chief Bhagtana, CAO Rush-Kittle, Attorney Alexiades who was filling in for Attorney Duprey as well as Sergeant Finch and the background officers, McGlotten and Cohen.

The Board went into Executive Sessin at 6:07 p.m.

- \*\* Commissioner Walker motioned to exit Executive Session
- \*\* Commissioner Brooks seconded.
- \*\* Motion passed unanimously

The Board exited Executive Session at 7:07 p.m.

- \*\* Commissioner Walker motioned to adhere to Chief Jacobson's recommendation to remove Chevaughn White from the Eligibility List #22-68CR
- \*\* Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- \*\* Motion passed unanimously
- \*\* Commissioner Walker motioned to adhere to Chief Jacobson's recommendation to remove Candidate Kelvin Mitchell from the Eligibility List #22-68CR
- \*\* Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- \*\* Motion failed unanimously

■ Commissioner Ribeiro indicated that the motion had failed and that the candidate moves forward in the process.

- \*\* Commissioner Walker motioned to adhere to Chief Jacobson's recommendation to remove Candidate Lance Reinhardt from the Eligibility List #22-68CR
- \*\* Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- \*\* Motion failed unanimously

 $\sim \sim$ 

Commissioner Ribeiro indicated that the motion failed and that the candidate would move forward in the process.

## **EXCUTIVE SESSION**

None

- \*\* Commissioner Brooks motioned to Adjourn the Special Meeting
- \*\* Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- \*\* Motion passed unanimously

The next regular meeting will be on October 8, 2024 The Board adjourned at 7:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

sotonye otunba-payne

Sotonye Otunba-Payne